Please take one minute to answer 3 questions on smoking cessation websites
 
 
Fonctioning
  • Nicotine, when inhaled with tobacco smoke, creates a physical addiction.
  • Nicotine withdrawal can result in unpleasant symptoms: craving for cigarettes, irritability, depression, inability to concentrate, anxiety, insomnia, headaches, weight gain, increased appetite.
  • Nicotine substitutes replace some of the nicotine that you absorbed while smoking.
  • They help reduce withdrawal symptoms and allow you to focus on the behavioural and social aspects of smoking. This can help make quitting easier.
  • Your chances of giving up smoking are doubled when using nicotine replacement therapy in comparison to using a placebo.
  • By giving up smoking you will avoid inhaling tar, carbon monoxide and other toxic gases contained in cigarette smoke.

Warning: Nicotine-based treatments are pharmaceutical products. Read the manufacturer's instructions carefully.

  Back




Patch (transdermal nicotine patches)

Purpose : The patch is an adhesive plaster containing nicotine. Applied simply and discreetly once a day, the patch diffuses controlled quantities of nicotine through the skin. Ideal for smokers with a regular habit.

Format : The patch comes in 3 strengths: -15mg-10mg-5mg - or  -21mg (strong)-14mg (medium)-7mg (light)-, depending on the brand. The patch is applied in the morning upon waking and must be worn for either 24 or 16 hours. Maximum nicotine levels in the blood are reached 6 to 8 hours after the patch is first applied.

Directions : Apply patch to a dry and smooth (hairless) area of skin (arm, thigh, chest, hip, shoulder.) Use a new area of skin each day, allowing a one-week period before applying a patch to a previously used area. Patches are waterproof, so showering or bathing with a patch is permitted.

Duration of Treatment : From 8 weeks to a maximum of 3 months. If strong cravings persist, you may increase the dosage or supplement the use of the patch with another nicotine substitute (chewing gum, lozenge, microtab, inhaler.) The patch is widely available through chemists (packs of 14 pads), or can be prescribed by a doctor.

Side Effects : The nicotine patch does not cause serious side effects. The following side-effects have been observed in 1 in 5 users, particularly at the start of treatment: reddening of the skin and temporary irritation of surrounding area which disappear within 48 hours of the patch's removal. Rarer side effects include: dizziness, headaches, nausea, lethargy, insomnia, increased heart rate.

Important: Do not cease treatment prematurely as this will decrease your chances of success.

Back




Chewing-Gum

Purpose : Nicotine chewing gums release controlled quantities of nicotine in the mouth. That are absorbed directly through the mucous membrane. The nicotine that is swallowed is not absorbed as the liver destroys it. Maximum nicotine levels in the blood (7-8 NG/ML) are reached some 30 minutes after chewing begins, this is a lot slower and a lot lower than the nicotine levels attained  through smoking (20-25 NG/ML in about 5 minutes.).

Format: The nicotine chewing gum is avai)lable in two strengths -4mg for heavy smokers (more than 20 cigarettes a day) and 2mg for moderate and light smokers. Various brands offer a selection of flavours to choose from: mint, lemon, fruit, or original (nicotine). It should be noted that only half the dosage indicated is actually absorbed. For example, only 1mg of nicotine is absorbed by chewing a 2mg piece of gum, the rest stays in the gum.

Directions:The nicotine gum may be chewed either on a regular basis throughout the day, or intermittently as the craving arises. If craving persists, increase the dosage or supplement the chewing gum with either a patch or a nicotine inhaler. If you smoke less than 20 cigarettes a day, you can save money by cutting a 4mg piece into 2 and chewing only 1/2 a piece at a time.

IMPORTANT  For optimal results:

  • Chew slowly: the flavour will appear little by little
  • After approximately 10 chews place it between your cheek and gum and let the nicotine be absorbed
  • Wait for flavour to dissipate
  • Slowly resume chewing (one piece of gum = 30 minutes)

Chewing the gum too quickly releases too much nicotine, produces a strong and acrid flavour, decreases the gum's potency, and can provoke hiccups or stomach pains.

Avoid drinking coffee or fruit juices (acid) before and while chewing nicotine gum because these types of drinks reduce the gum's potency.

Duration of treatment : From 8 weeks to a maximum of 3 months. Nicotine chewing gum is available through chemists, or can be prescribed by a doctor.

Side effects: Nicotine chewing gum does not produce serious side effects. The following side-effects have been observed in 1 in 5 users, particularly at the start of treatment: vertigo, headaches, nausea, heartburn, hiccups, discomfort of the gums, inflammation of the mouth and throat. Most side effects can be avoided by closely following the directions given above.

Important: Do not cease treatment prematurely as this will decrease your chances of success.

 Back




Micro-tablets

Purpose: Placed under the tongue, micro- tablets melt slowly, releasing controlled quantities of nicotine in the mouth. These tablets are discreet and can be used  at any time.

Format: 2mg tablets in handy dispenser.

Directions: Place the tablet under your  tongue and allow to melt for 20 minutes. The effect varies from one person to another. If  you feel it is too strong, spit the tablet out before it has completely melted.

Duration of treatment : From 8 weeks to a maximum of 3 months. Available through chemists (packs of 30) or can be prescribed by a doctor.

Side effects: Tablets do not cause serious side effects. The following side effects have been observed in 1 in 5 users, especially at the start of treatment: headaches, dizziness, nausea, insomnia, cold-like symptoms, mouth-ulcers.

Important: Do not cease treatment prematurely as this will decrease your chances of success.

 Back





Lozenges

Purpose : Lozenges are a more discrete alternative to chewing gum.

Format : Lozenges come in 1mg dosages (mint flavour). One 1mg lozenge is equal to one 2mg chewing gum.

Directions: If you smoke less than 20 cigarettes a day, 8 to 12 lozenges a day is the recommended dosage. Do not take more than 15 lozenges a day. If you smoke more than 20 cigarettes a day, 4mg chewing gums are recommended for the first two months;  you may then switch over to 1mg lozenges and reduce the daily dose little by little.

Duration of treatment : From 8 weeks to a maximum of 3 months. Lozenges are available through chemists, or can be prescribed by a doctor.

Side effects : Lozenges do not produce serious side effects. The following side effects have been observed in 1 in 5 users, particularly at the start of treatment: headaches, dizziness, nausea, insomnia, cold-like symptoms, mouth ulcers.

Important: Do not cease treatment prematurely as this will decrease your chances of success.

 Back




Inhaler

Purpose: Inhalers help combat both nicotine addiction and the behaviour associated with smoking. They reduce the craving for cigarettes and mimic the process of inhaling cigarette smoke.

Format: Shaped like a cigarette holder, the inhaler is made of 3 components : 1) a box of 42 refills. Each  one containing a sponge saturated with 10mg of nicotine (mint flavour), of which only 5mg is absorbed by the user; 2) A white plastic tube resembling a cigarette-holder in which to insert the nicotine refills; 3) a convenient case to hold the refills and the tube so that the user can carry them  around in a pocket or purse.

Directions: Inhale puffs of nicotine vapour, inhaling more often than with a cigarette as each puff releases much less nicotine than a cigarette: 10 to 20 puffs of vapour release the same amount of nicotine as a single cigarette puff. Maximum nicotine levels in the blood are reached 20 minutes after starting inhalation,  far slower than when you inhale cigarette smoke (5minutes). Use at least 6 nicotine refills a day and a maximum of 12. You can either breathe the nicotine vapours into your mouth and then exhale, or inhale them deeply into the lungs. The quantity of nicotine absorbed will be the about the same in  both cases, as it is mainy absorbed through the mucous membrane of the mouth.

Duration of treatment: From 8 weeks to a maximum of 3 months. Only available by doctor's prescription.

Side effects : Inhalers do not cause serious side effects. Minor side effects are possible but rare and consist of headaches, nausea, heartburn. Users may also experience mouth and throat irritations and a slight cough.

Important: Do not cease treatment prematurely as this will decrease your chances of success.

 Back




Pro & cons?

Here is what smokers  have told us about nicotine replacement therapy, and our answers to their concerns:
"I can quit smoking with the help of these products. Willpower is all it takes."
These products double your chances of success. Put the odds on your side! Strong motivation leads to success, however willpower alone is often not enough. Most people need help to overcome their addiction and its withdrawal symptoms. Don't let pride be your downfall.
"These products don't work"
Many clinical trials have shown these products to be effective. However, they do not guarantee success. Using these products still requires effort  on the part of the user and a willingness to change.
"I am not addicted to nicotine"
These products increase your chances of success even if you only smoke 10-15 cigarettes a day. If you ever lit first cigarette within one hour of waking up, smoked more than 5 cigarette per day, or experienced discomfort the last time you tried to quit smoking, you may well be addicted to nicotine.
"I am against using medicines to help me quit smoking"
There is no shame in using medicines to free yourself from a powerful and physically addictive drug such as smoked nicotine.
"These products are too expensive"
Depending on which country you are, this may well be true (patches cost CHF180 per month in switzerland), and most public health systems (Medicare, etc) will not refund your costs. However, the costs are still fa lot lower than what an average smoker spends annually on cigarettes.
"I worry about the side-effects of these products"
These products have few minor side-effects (see above). It is important to note that the nicotine patch, nasal spray, tablets, lozenges and chewing gums are not dangerous for your health.  It has been shown that these products do not increase the risk of cardio-vascular problems, even in patients with heart problems.
"My problem is not the physical addiction, but breaking an old habit"
It will be easier for you to break the social and behavioural aspects of your dependenxy if the physical addiction  problem is removed by the use of these nicotine products.
"There is a high risk of becoming addicted to these products."
Addiction depends on the SPEED of nicotine absorption. Nicotine absorption is fastest with cigarettes. Nicotine patches are not addictive, whereas 80% of regular smokers are addicted to cigarettes. Fewer than one percent of users of nicotine gum become addicted to it. And long-term use of nicotine gum has not been shown to be dangerous.

FAQ (answered by Dr J.P. Humair)

"I once tried quitting smoking with the help of nicotine patches but failed. The withdrawal symptoms were too severe. Is it possible to use both a nicotine patch or a chewing gum or inhaler at the same time ?"
Yes it is perfectly acceptable to combine the patch with another nicotine substitute (chewing gum, tablets, inhaler, nasal spray). The latter is taken only when difficult withdrawal episodes arise. Combining treatments is also recommended for heavy smokers (>30-40 cigs per day) and for those who find single treatments ineffective.
"I tried quitting with the help of the 21mg patch and nicotine chewing gum but failed: my craving never went away. I smoke more than 35 filterless cigarettes a day. Can I use two 21mg patches at the same time?"
The problem with patches is that tey can take 2-3 days to achieve their full effect. In your case, a combination of a 21mg patch with 4mg chewing gum (or nasal spray) taken regularly at the start, say every 30-60 min, is preferable. Generally, if withdrawal symptoms are not reduced by an initial treatment, an increase in the total dosage of nicotine through a fast acting product is required.

"Can you tell me if using a patch at the same time as bupropion (Zyban) is safe? After many attempts, I am trying again and I would like to know if my chances of success  would increase by using both together."
It is possible to combine bupropion (Zyban) with a nicotine patch or any other nicotine substitute. There have been only two studies on the effects of combining bupropion (Zyban) and nicotine patches. One showed a slight increase in success rates when combining the two treatments, but the other found no measurable effect.When all other treatments have failed, combining patches with bupropion (Zyban) is still recommended by some doctors.
"I quit smoking with help of patches. Later on I moved from patches to 2mg nicotine chewing gum (6 per day on average) It has now been 8 months since I started using nicotine substitutes! Is this a risk to my health?"
No, nicotine in itself is not a risk to your health. Because it is not the cause of the numerous diseases associated with tobacco. Furthermore, the doses of nicotine involved in treatments are far lower than the amounts absorbed by smoking. On the other hand, nicotine is what causes addiction, and you may possibly be addicted to the chewing gum. Although this is undoubtedly better than being dependent on cigarettes, try to reduce your chewing gum intake by 1 piece each week. Note the times when you crave the gum and try doing something else on these occasions. You will find many suggestions for alternatives  behaviour on this website.

References

Silagy C, Lancaster T, Stead L, Mant D, Fowler G. Nicotine replacement therapy for smoking cessation (Cochrane Review). In: The Cochrane Library, Issue 2, 2002. http://www.cochrane.org/cochrane/revabstr/ab000146.htm

Back



Links

http://www.lungusa.org/tobacco/replacement_factsheet99.html

http://www.jr2.ox.ac.uk/bandolier/band86/b86-3.html

http://www.patient.co.uk/showdoc.asp?doc=23069088

http://www.ash.org.uk/html/cessation/Smoking%20reduction/NRT051229.pdf

 Back

E. Laszlo und T.Grolimund

Les substituts nicotiniques

 

 


Fonctionnement Cliquez pour couter ce texte

  • La nicotine, lorsqu'elle est inhalée avec la fumée de tabac, crée une dépendance physique.
  • Le manque de nicotine peut entraîner des symptômes désagréables de sevrage : besoin urgent de fumer, irritabilité, déprime, difficultés de concentration, anxiété, troubles du sommeil, maux de tête, prise de poids, appétit augmenté.
  • Les substituts nicotiniques compensent une partie de la nicotine que votre organisme reçevait quand vous fumiez.
  • Ils atténuent les symptômes de sevrage  et vous permettent de vous concentrer sur l'aspect social et comportemental de la consommation de cigarettes. Vous pourrez ainsi plus facilement renoncer à fumer.
  • Comparativement à un traitement factice (placebo), le traitement de substitution de la nicotine double vos chances d'arrêter de fumer.
  • En arrêtant de fumer, vous évitez d'inhaler le goudron, le monoxyde de carbone, les gaz irritants que contient la fumée.

Avis: Les traitements à base de nicotine sont des médicaments. Veuillez lire le prospectus d’emballage!

Retour




Patch (timbre ou dispositif transdermique) Cliquez pour couter ce texte

Principe: Le patch est un sparadrap contenant de la nicotine. Utilisé une fois par jour, simple et discret, le patch diffuse des quantitées contrôlées de nicotine à travers la peau. Il convient aux fumeurs ayant des habitudes régulières.

Présentation: Le patch existe en 3 dosages, selon les marques (15mg-10mg-5mg ou  21mg(fort) -14mg(moyen ) -7mg(léger) ). Il se colle le matin  au réveil et doit être porté, soit 24 heures ou soit 16 heures.  Le maximum de nicotine dans le sang est obtenu 6 à 8 heures après que le patch est été collé.

Utilisation: Coller le patch sur une surface de la peau sèche et sans poils (bras, cuisse, tronc, hanche, omoplate). Changer chaque jour l'emplacement où vous coller le patch. Respectez une intervalle d'une semaine avant de recoller le patch dans la même zone. Vous pouvez prendre une douche ou un bain avec le patch, car il est imperméable. Si le patch se dcolle, fixez-le avec du sparadrap par-dessus

Durée du traitement: de 8 semaines à 3 mois au maximum. Si vous ressentez fortement le besoin de fumer, vous pouvez augmenter le dosage ou utiliser, en plus du patch, un autre substitut nicotinique  (chewing -gum,  pastille à sucer, microtab, inhalateur). Le patch est  en vente libre en pharmacie (emballage de 14 pièce), ou sur prescription d'un médecin.

Effets indésirables: Le patch de nicotine ne provoque aucun effet indésirable sérieux. On observe des effets indésirables chez un utilisateur sur 5, particulièrement en début de traitement. Il s'agit le plus souvent de rougeurs de la peau et de démangeaisons locales et passagères, qui disparaissent au bout de 48 heures après le retrait du patch. Les autres effets rares sont des vertiges, maux de tête, nausées, malaises, insomnies, augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque.

Important: Ne pas interrompre le traitement prématurément, car cela diminue beaucoup vos chances de succès.

Retour




Gommes à mâcher (chewing-gum) Cliquez pour couter ce texte

Principe: Les gommes à mâcher libèrent des quantités contrôlées de nicotine dans la bouche. La nicotine qui est avalée n'est pas absorbée, car elle est détruite par le foie. Le maximum de nicotine dans le sang (7-8 NG/ML) est obtenu 30 minutes après le début de la mastication, ce qui correspond à une quantité beaucoup moins élevée et une diffusion beaucoup plus lente que lorsqu'on fume une cigarette (20-25 NG/ML en 5 minutes).

Présentation: Les gommes existent en deux dosages - 4mg pour grands fumeurs (plus de 20 cigarettes par jour) et 2 mg pour fumeurs moyens et petits fumeurs -. Selon les marques, vous trouverez plusieurs arômes (menthe, citron, fruit, original). Il faut savoir que seule la moitié de la dose est en réalité absorbée. Ainsi si vous prenez une gomme de 2 mg, vous n'absorberez que 1 mg de nicotine.

Utilisation: Vous pouvez les prendre régulièrement sur la journée, ou uniquement lorsque l'envie vous tenaille. Du fait de leur flexibilité, elles sont surtout indiquées pour celles et ceux qui fument de manière irrégulière. Prenez au minimum 10 gommes par jour. Si vous ressentez le besoin de fumer, prenez davantage de gommes ou utilisez en même temps soit un patch, soit un inhalateur de nicotine. Si vous fumez moins de 20 cigarettes par jour, vous pouvez, pour économiser, couper les gommes de 4 mg en 2 et mâcher 1/2 gomme à la fois.

IMPORTANT  pour un résultat optimal, suivre les instructions de mastication suivantes:

  • Mâcher lentement la gomme : le goût apparaît
  • Après environ 10 mastications, observer une pause en calant la gomme entre la joue et la gencive
  • Attendre que le goût s'attenue
  • Recommencer à mâcher lentement la gomme (une gomme = 30 minutes)

Une mastication trop rapide libère une quantité trop importante de nicotine, un goût fort et piquant, une diminution de l'efficacité de la gomme, le hoquet ou encore mal à l'estomac.

Evitez de boire du café ou du jus de fruits (acide) avant et pendant la prise de la gomme, car ces boissons diminuent son efficacité.

Durée du traitement: de 8 semaines à 3 mois au maximum.. Disponible en vente libre en pharmacie (emballage de 30 ou 105 pièces), ou sur prescription d'un médecin.

Effets indésirables:  Les gommes ne provoquent aucun effet indésirable sérieux. On observe des effets indésirables chez un utilisateur sur 5, particulièrement en début de traitement. Il s'agit de vertiges, maux de tête, nausées, brûlures d'estomac, hoquet, douleurs des gencives, inflammation de la bouche et de la gorge. La plupart des effets indésirables peuvent être évités si l'on mâche la gomme selon les instructions ci-dessus.

Important: Ne pas interrompre le traitement prématurément, car cela diminue beaucoup vos chances de succès.

 Retour




Microtabs (comprimés) Cliquez pour couter ce texte

Principe: Placé sous la langue, le comprimé fond doucement en diffusant des quantités contrôlées de nicotine dans la bouche. Son utilisation est discrète et flexible.

Présentation: Comprimé de 2 mg, avec distributeur pratique.

Utilisation: Placez  le comprimé sous la langue et laissez-le fondre en 20 minutes.  L'effet ressenti est individuel. S'il est trop fort, le comprimé peut être recraché avant d'être complètement dissous.

Durée du traitement: de 8 semaines à 3 mois au maximum. Disponible en vente libre en pharmacie (emballage de 30 pièce), ou sur prescription d'un médecin.

Effets indésirables: Les microtabs ne provoquent aucun effet indésirable sérieux. On observe des effets indésirables chez un utilisateur sur 5, particulièrement en début de traitement. Il s'agit de maux de tête, vertiges, nausées, insomnie, symptômes évocateurs de rhume, aphtes.

Important: Ne pas interrompre le traitement prématurément, car cela diminue beaucoup vos chances de succès.

 Retour




Pastilles à sucer Cliquez pour couter ce texte

Principe: Il s'agit d'une alternative plus discrète que les gommes à mâcher.

Présentation: Les pastilles à sucer existent en 1mg (arôme menthe). Une pastille à 1 mg équivaut à une gomme à mâcher de 2 mg.

Utilisation: Si vous fumez moins de 20 cigarettes par jour, 8 à 12 pastilles par jour suffisent. Ne pas absorber plus de 15 pastilles par jour. La ration quotidienne doit être réduite progressivement, au plus tard deux mois après le commencement de la cure. Si vous fumez plus de 20 cigarettes par jour, les gommes à mâcher à 4 mg sont recommandées au cours des deux premiers mois; un passage aux pastilles à sucer à 1 mg est ensuite possible, avec réduction progressive de la ration quotidienne.

Durée du traitement: de 8 semaines à 3 mois au maximum.. Disponible en vente libre en pharmacie, ou sur prescription d'un médecin.

Effets indésirables: Les pastilles à sucer ne provoquent aucun effet indésirable sérieux. On observe des effets indésirables chez un utilisateur sur 5, particulièrement en début de traitement. Il s'agit de maux de tête, vertiges, nausées, insomnie, symptômes évocateurs de rhume, aphtes.

Important: Ne pas interrompre le traitement prématurément, car cela diminue beaucoup vos chances de succès.

 

Retour




Inhalateur Cliquez pour couter ce texte

Principe: Un moyen actif qui combat à la fois la dépendance envers la nicotine et l'habitude gestuelle. L'inhalateur apaise l'envie de fumer et reproduit le rituel du geste et de l'inhalation.

Présentation: Il s'agit d'une sorte de porte-cigarette à partir duquel  on aspire une vapeur de nicotine. Le matériel d'utilisation de l'inhalateur est composé de 3 éléments : 1) une boîte de 42 recharges. Chaque recharge contient une éponge imprégnée de 10 mg de nicotine (goût menthe), dont seulement 5 mg sont absorbées. 2) un tube en plastique blanc ressemblant à un porte-cigarette, dans lequel vous insérez les recharges de nicotine. 3) une boîte sécurisée qui permet d'emporter les recharges et le tube dans une poche ou un sac à main.

Utilisation: Aspirez des bouffées de vapeur de nicotine. Prenez des bouffées plus fréquentes qu'avec une cigarette, car chaque bouffée délivre moins de nicotine qu'une bouffée de cigarette : 10 à 20 bouffées d'inhalateur procurent la même quantité de nicotine qu'une bouffée de cigarette. Le maximum de nicotine dans le sang est obtenu environ 20 minutes après le début de l'inhalation, donc plus lentement que lorsqu'on fume une cigarette (maximum après 10 minutes). Utilisez au moins 6 recharges de nicotine par jour, et jusqu'à 12 recharges. Vous pouvez soit aspirer la vapeur de nicotine dans la bouche sans l'avaler, soit inhaler profondément dans les poumons. La quantié de nicotine absorbée est la même dans les 2 cas. La nicotine est surtout absorbée à travers la muqueuse de la bouche.

Durée du traitement: de 8 semaines à 3 mois au maximum.. Disponible  uniquement sur prescription d'un médecin.

Effets indésirables: Aucun effet indésirable sérieux n'a été rapporté pour l'usage de l'inhalateur. Les effets secondaires possibles mais rares sont les maux de tête, la nausée, et les brûlures d'estomac. On peut ressentir une irritation de la bouche et de la gorge et une légère toux.

Important: Ne pas interrompre le traitement prématurément, car cela diminue beaucoup vos chances de succès.

 Retour




Spray nasal Cliquez pour couter ce texte

Principe: Le spray nasal agit très rapidement et met un terme aux symptômes de sevrage. Il est conseillé pour les fumeurs ayant connu une très forte dépendance au tabac.

Présentation: Une prescription médicale est nécessaire. Il se présente sous forme d'un flacon 10ml qui contient 100mg de nicotine.

Utilisation: Au début utilisez le spray nasal une à deux fois par heure, maximum 3 fois. Une dose correspond à 1 mg de nicotine. Le spray est appliqué à chaque narine.

Durée du traitement: entre 8 semaines et maximum 3 mois. Le spray nasal est en vente dans les pharmacies sur présentation d'une prescription médicale.

Effets indésirables: Ils apparaissent le plus souvent pendant la première semaine du traitement et se manifestent localement: irritation de la muqueuse nasale, rhume et éternuement. Plus rares sont le vertige, les nausées et une augmentation des pulsations cardiaques.

Important: Ne pas interrompre le traitement prématurément, car cela diminue beaucoup vos chances de succès.

 

 Retour




  Efficacité


Pour ou contre? Cliquez pour couter ce texte

"Je peux très bien arrêter de fumer sans l'aide de tels produits, la volonté suffit"
Ces produits multiplient par 2 vos chances de succès. Mettez un maximum d'atouts de votre côté! Une forte motivation est une garantie de succès, cependant la volonté a elle seule ne suffit pas, vous avez besoin d'une aide pour vaincre la dépendance et les symptômes de sevrage. Une fierté mal placée peut vous conduire à la rechute.
"Ça ne marche pas"
De nombreuses études scientifiques ont montré que ces produits sont efficaces, ils ne sont pas une garantie de succès. L'utilisation de ces produits ne vous dispense pas de faire l'effort de changer vos habitudes.
"Je ne suis pas dépendant de la nicotine"
Ces produits  augmentent  vos chances de succès même si vous ne fumiez que 10-15 cigarettes par jour. Commencez par admettre que si à une époque, vous fumiez davantage de cigarettes, vous étiez dépendant de la nicotine.
"Je suis opposé à l'idée d'utiliser un médicament pour m'aider à arrêter de fumer"
Il n'y a pas de honte à utiliser un médicament pour se libérer d'une drogue comme la nicotine fumée, qui engendre une forte dépendance physique.
"Ces produits coûtent trop cher"
Il est vrai que ces produits coûtent cher (le patch coûte 180 FrS par mois), de plus ils ne sont pas remboursés par les caisses maladies (sécurité sociale). C'est toutefois beaucoup moins que ce vous coûtaient les cigarettes chaque année.
"Je crains les effets secondaires de ces produits"
Ces produits ont très peu d'effets secondaires, et ces effets sont banals (voir ci-dessus). Il est important de savoir que le patch, le spray nasal, le microtab, les pastilles à sucer et le chewing-gum à la nicotine ne sont pas dangereux pour la santé. Notamment, le risque d'accident cardio-vasculaire n'est pas augmenté chez les personnes qui utilisent ces produits, même chez les patients cardiaques.
"Mon problème n'est pas la dépendance physique, mais de me défaire d'une vieille habitude"
Il vous sera plus facile de vous attaquer aux autres aspects de votre habitude de fumer (aspect social et comportemental) si le problème de la dépendance physique est résolu par l'utilisation des produits contenant de la nicotine.
"Il y a un trop fort risque d'accoutumance"
La dépendance dépend de la VITESSE d'absorption de la nicotine. Cette vitesse est maximale avec les cigarettes. Il n'y a pas de dépendance au patch. En comparaison, 80% des fumeurs réguliers de cigarettes sont dépendants du tabac.




  FAQ (réponses du Dr J.-P.Humair) Cliquez pour couter ce texte

"J'ai dejà essayé d'arrêter de fumer par le biais du patch, sans succes : les moments de manque étaient trop durs à supporter. Est-il possible d'utiliser à la fois un patch et un autre produit de substitution (gomme, inhalateur) en même temps ???"
Oui, il est tout à fait possible et plus efficace d'associer un patch avec un autre substitut en nicotine (gomme, tablette, inhalateur, spray nasal). Ce dernier se prend à la demande pour gérer les moments difficiles. C'est même indiqué chez les gros fumeurs (>30-40 cig/j) et ceux pour lesquels un seul substitut ne suffit pas.
"J'ai essayé d'arrêter de fumer avec un patch 21mg et des chewing gums a la nicotine mais je n'y suis pas arrivé : le manque était toujours là. Je fume plus de 35 cigarettes par jours sans filtres . Puis-je appliquer deux patchs de 21mg en même temps ?
Le problème avec les patches, c'est qu'il faut 2-3 jours pour qu'ils atteignent leur plein effet. Dans votre situation, une combinaison patch 21 mg avec gomme 4mg (ou spray nasal) à prendre très régulièrement au début, soit toutes les 30-60 min., est préférable.

D'une façon générale, si les symptômes de manque ne sont pas assez calmés par le traitement, il faut augmenter la dose totale de nicotine, avec un produit à action rapide pour avoir un effet immédiat.

"Pourriez-vous me dire ci l'on peut utiliser le patch avec le bupropion. Après plusieurs tentatives, j'essaie encore et je voudrais savoir si on a plus de chance en associant les deux."
Il est tout à fait possible d'associer le bupropion (Zyban) avec un patch de nicotine ou tout autre substitut en nicotine. A ce jour, il n'y a que 2 études sur l'association du bupropion (Zyban) avec un patch de nicotine : une étude a démontré que l'association des deux traitements s'est avérée légèrement plus efficace que le bupropion seul, tandis que l'autre n'a pas mesuré de différence d'efficacité. En cas de rechute avec d'autres méthodes, cette association est souvent proposée par les médecins.
"J'ai arrêté de fumer avec l'aide de patchs. J'ai plus tard troqué les patchs contre des chewing gums à la nicotine 2mg (6 par jour en moyenne). Cela fait maintenant 8 mois que j'utilise des substituts nicotiniques! Est-ce dangereux pour ma santé?"
Non la nicotine n'est pas dangereuse pour votre santé car elle n'est pas la cause des multiples maladies dues au tabac. De plus les doses que vous prenez sont inférieures aux doses de nicotine absorbées en fumant. Par contre la nicotine est responsable de la dépendance et vous êtes probablement dépendante des gommes. C'est sans aucun doute préférable à la reprise du tabac. Néanmoins essayez de vous en passer en diminuant très progressivement à raison de 1 en moins chaque semaine. Analysez quand vous les prenez et trouvez un autre moyen que la gomme dans ces situations. Vous trouverez plein de suggestions dans les brochures de ce site

Témoignages  

Vous pouvez consulter ici les témoignages de nos utilisateurs sur les substituts nicotiniques.

Retour




Pour en savoir plus

Dans notre rubrique "Forum Docteur" vous pouvez poser vos questions et consulter des réponses faites par un docteur, spécialisé dans la désaccoutumance au tabac.

Retour



Références

Silagy C, Lancaster T, Stead L, Mant D, Fowler G. Nicotine replacement therapy for smoking cessation (Cochrane Review). In: The Cochrane Library, Issue 2, 2002. http://www.cochrane.org/cochrane/revabstr/ab000146.htm

Retour



Liens

Voir aussi l'article du magazine Femina sur les patchs
http://www.edicom.ch/magazine/femina/bienetre/sante_antitabac.shtml


Retour
E. Laszlo und T.Grolimund